BREAKING: Proud Boys leader Enrique Tarrio sentenced to 22 years over Jan 6 riot

Enrique Tarrio, known for his former role as chairman of the Proud Boys, has been sentenced to 22 years in prison over charges of seditious conspiracy in connection to the riot at the US Capitol on Jan. 6, 2021. This is now the longest sentence handed down to any January 6 defendant.

Prosecutors had sought to have Tarrio sentenced to 33 years in federal prison. Tarrio’s co-defendants Zachary Rehl, Joe Biggs, and Ethan Nordean, all of whom were Proud Boys affiliates, all received anywhere between 15-18 years in prison.

Tarrio was not present at the US Capitol on Jan. 6, 2021. As was noted by American journalist Julie Kelly, he had been detained the day prior after an alleged burning of a BLM banner took place in December 2020. 

Thus far, around 1,100 individuals have been charged over alleged crimes related to the Jan. 6 Capitol riot, and over 300 have been sentenced to serve time behind bars. New arrests are still ongoing, over two years after that fateful day. 

The sentence Tarrio received is the longest related to Jan. 6 that has been doled out thus far. Prosecutors on the case argued in favor of Tarrio receiving a terrorism sentencing enhancement, to which the judge agreed. The judge had



Subscribe to Our Free Newsletter